Kowall awards Certificates of Recognition to Michigan State Fair Urban & Rural Scholarship winners

For Immediate Release                                                                                               
Oct. 31, 2013      
Contact: Dave Biswas
Phone: (517) 373-1758

LANSING, Mich.— Sen. Mike Kowall recognized the Michigan State Fair Scholarship recipients during Senate session Wednesday. The group includes students from ten different Michigan counties.

In total, the Michigan State Fair scholarships amounted to $20,000 and went to recipients from kindergarten to college and from both inner-city to rural communities. The scholarship program awards winners in two categories: urban farming, whose initiatives are a cornerstone in helping neighborhoods thrive; and rural farming, which is carrying on the rich tradition of Michigan farming.

“It’s always a pleasure to commend such well-deserving young men and women,” said Kowall, R-White Lake. “These fine Michiganders, representing 10 Michigan counties, are leaders and role models, and I hope they use these funds to further their education and become even more successful.”

Kowall advocated for Michigan residents to help these groups continue to award students representing Michigan’s second leading industry and to allow programs such as 4-H, Edible Schoolyard Project and Michigan Urban Farming Initiative to continue to award scholarships to such worth recipients.

The 2013 scholarship winners (some of whom aren’t pictured) are: Mya Bell, Alair Bergman, Sovoya DavisSarah Frank, Megan Heydlauff, Alana Hutka, Lynette Jackson, Olivia Jannert.  De’Anthony Jefferson,Joseph Linton-Agnello, Tierra Modock, Jody Newton II, Samantha Newton, Sarah Panone, Delaney Pantalone, Piper Pantalone, Alexandra Reau, Ariel Reed,Cedric Russ, Dayjah Russ, Alexandria Schut, Grace Scigaj, Joshua Scramlin, Maghen Smith, Noah Steinberg, Casanovis Cody Williams, Dawann Gary Williams, Devon James Williams and Tara Wilson.

Also present on the Senate Floor were Rep. Hugh Crawford, R-Novi; Blair Bowman, president of the Suburban Collection Showplace and CEO of the Michigan State Fair LLC.; Sen. Kowall, Jackie & L.C. Scramlin; Jack Riley of Fifth Third Bank; Craig Stigleman of Shriners Club of Detroit; and Kent Roberts, chairman of the scholarship committee and steering committee member.