Kowall congratulates area districts receiving Competitive School Safety grants

Sen. Mike Kowall

Sen. Mike Kowall

LANSING, Mich. — Senate Majority Floor Leader Mike Kowall on Thursday congratulated three school districts on being awarded funds from the state’s Competitive School Safety Grant Program.

“The safety of our schoolchildren must be at the top of our concerns,” said Kowall, R-White Lake. “These grants will help these schools provide a safe learning environment for their students.”

The districts awarded grants are:
• FlexTech High School, Novi — $14,984
• Jean and Samuel Frankel Jewish Academy, West Bloomfield — $21,784
• South Lyon Community Schools — $195,975

The Legislature dedicated $25 million within the state budget to provide grants to improve the safety and security of school buildings through the purchase of technology and equipment and through school building safety assessments.

For more information, visit the Michigan State Police’s Grants and Community Service Division website at www.michigan.gov/cjgrants and click the School Safety link.